Administration is responsible for overall city operation. Key staff members include the City Manager, Assistant City Manager, and City Clerk.

Community Development coordinates and facilitates strategies for the economic development and redevelopment of the city. Included in the department are the Planning & Zoning, Building Permitting & Inspections, Code Compliance and GIS.

Customer Service is responsible for taking payments and service applications from residents of the city, as well as answering questions, resolving problems and billing customers. The department is also responsible for administering the city's business license program and property tax collection.

Downtown Development Authority facilitates the process of Economic Development in the Downtown Development Authority District while preserving its historic downtown heritage through establishing a culture of cooperation and consensus by building partnerships, promoting a positive image of our downtown, creating a safe and inviting environment, and by providing a balanced commercial mix.

Finance Department maintains the city's financial stability through monitoring internal controls and supervision of financial growth and provision of accurate accounting of the city's funds, both internally and externally to taxpayers.

Historic Preservation Commission is charged with the responsibility of initiating local historic designations, the design review process for historic buildings and landmarks, public education and awareness, securing preservation related grant funding, and preservation planning and research.

Information Technology is responsible for maintaining the local area network and telecommunications systems while continually evaluating the way data and communications are conveyed among employees and the city residents they serve.

Parks, Recreation and Community Resource Department is responsible for keeping the city's parks and facilities safe, clean and routinely maintained and creating extradoniary events, programs and athletic opporunities for the community. 

Police strives to ensure the safety of citizens by enforcing laws within the city of Acworth. The department consists of two main divisions: Patrol Operations and Headquarters Operations

Power Department provides electric services to residential and commercial customers throughout the city and into portion of Cobb and Bartow Counties. The system maintains 100 miles of lines.

Public Works is responsible for sanitation services, maintenance of streets, right-of-way, and infrastructure of the city. Key staff members include the Director of Public Works, Sanitation Foreman, Soil Errosion Inspector, Streets Foreman, and Contract Administrator.

Tourism is responsible for promoting tourism, conventions, and trade shows within the area. The division is staffed by the Director of Tourism. The Director’s primary duties include providing staff support to the activities of the Acworth Tourism Bureau Authority.